Fat Kids Do Laundry

12 Feb

J: So Maggie and I were looking back on old photos of us recently and we realized that we’ve both gained quite a bit of weight since we first got engaged/married.  (Me especially, I’ve gained at least 40-45 lbs!)

M: Yeppers. I was always one to deny the reality of the Honeymoon Period 15 or 30 or whatever, but it has happened to us. I guess that’s what living within walking distance of a Chipotle for a year and then eating Cuban food for four months will do to a body. And so, without further ado– two chubby white kids attempting to do laundry, Rwanda-style.

Photobucket

M: Luckily, one of the housekeeping ladies walked by and laughed at us. She mercifully relieved us of 2/3 of our laundry– which she then proceeded to do in half the time it took us to do the remaining 1/3. AND she was quite pregnant. “Ndashaka!” she pointed at our laundry. “I want!” Thank the Lord she did!!

J: And like the dummy I am, I left 2/3 of the shirts I needed washed hanging on their pegs in our room.

Photobucket

J: Here’s our fancy dryer.

M: I secretly think that the staff came to laugh at our underwear. Or, not so secretly– as I told Justin I hoped the female staff would come laugh at his.

Photobucket

M: I spent hours making all these skirts to bring to Rwanda/wear for years afterwards. I dyed this white one this exquisite coraly-peachy-pink color, and of course, Rwandan water sucks the dye right out of it.

J:  She also dyed my hands pink.

Photobucket

J: During a break to fetch clean water and pour the old water in our toilet (we’re so economical and green), this little guy fell in the washing basin.

M: He is one of the less formidable bugs we have encountered here so far.

Photobucket

J: No worries though, I saved him!

M: I’m so proud.

Photobucket

M: Then we washed up to go to a wedding up the hill. However, we neglected to “schedule” lunch and arrived up at the top of the hill to see the wedding guests all leaving for the reception. Oh well. It is hilarious that we were late to an African wedding though. “Late” is what they do best here! So instead we walked around and took pictures.

J: What Maggie has neglected to inform you is that we would have been on time had we received our lunch when we had asked for it; instead we arrived 2 hours late.  (Sweet fences, eh?)

Photobucket

M: In typical white fashion, I had to conquer something African. So I stood on this tree.

J: Hard to tell from this picture, but it’s a frickin sweet tree.  From the roots up it twists in an odd manner from left to right.  And the leaves are in bunches, only at the end of the branches. Not to mention it’s HUGE.  Hence the large root system that Maggs is standing on..

M: You twist in an odd manner from left to right.

J: O_o

Photobucket

M: There are all these inspirational signs in a lovely courtyard in the English-speaking primary school. One of them says “Even Girls Can Make It”

J: I took this picture with Grace Ciak-Linton in mind.  I figured she’d appreciate it 🙂

Photobucket

J: In case the first one wasn’t clear enough. (M refused to caption this, saying “It’s the same sign!!!”)

Photobucket

M: This is a relatively even part of the massive hill we have to walk up and down twice a day.

J: And she’s going down hill when the sun isn’t shining.  Normally we do this in the heat of the day with backpacks and sweat our faces off.

M: Someday we’ll tell our children Mommy and Daddy walked to work uphill both ways for months.

Photobucket

J: Pay no mind to the way that I’m standing.  I was caught unawares.

M: All lies. He posed for the cows.

J: Now who looks like a liar!?  There are no cows!

M: They’re just outside the frame. Admiring your eagle powers.

J: I’m sure they are.

Photobucket

M: Bougainvillaea that looks like a sunset!!!

J: For a proper sunset see below.

Photobucket

J: I snapped this at the base of the hill.  It gives you a literal snapshot of what we see on a daily basis.  The buildings on the other side of the fence on the other side of the road are the Seeds of Peace center where we live.  The white vans with blue stripes are taxis.  Then there’s  truck and a boda (motorcycle taxi).  To the left you can see a fabulous sign with 5 girls that says something about not needing a “suga mama” or “suga dadi.”

M: It’s actually three girls and two boys. Regardless, you can see Lake Muhazi just behind the center.

Photobucket

J: This is a window.

M: Justin has THE BEST eye for finding beautiful windows and doors wherever we travel. I love the vibrancy of this shot.

J: If only they paid people for finding doors and windows!

Photobucket

M: Just another day in paradise.

J: Another slightly boring day…in a rural and lonely paradise.

M: Time to go find a margarita. Oh wait.

Photobucket

J: The end.

M: You’re the end.

J: You come off it!

M: You.

J: You infinity.

 

Love,

M & J

5 Responses to “Fat Kids Do Laundry”

  1. Donna February 12, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Great post! Love the laundry and enjoyed the walk. Justin, I have a screen saver pic done by a professional with a window like that and I love it. You Do have a good eye!

    Maggie, Jaralei had the same problem with the water in Denmark. It was nasty and ruined the colors in her clothes. It’s sad and I’m sorry about your clothes.

    I love that you guys are keeping up with blogging. Please continue!

    I love you and am praying for you.

  2. Rebecca February 12, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    You two are hilarious!!! You’re onto something here with the tag team blogging. it makes the reader feel like theyre in the middle of a conversation with you. Genius. And somehow I missed that you have left the country, so I’ve got some catching up to do. Your hearts are solid gold, I swear! Peace:).

  3. Jim & LaRinda Paulson February 12, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    thank you for sharing a “window” into your world. Uncle Jim & I enjoy your posts. May the Lord bless and keep you in your work there.

  4. Heather February 13, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    Oh my gosh. You kids are HILARIOUS! I can’t wait to hear more of your epic adventures. It makes my heart happy!

  5. Roger February 15, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    In my travels, trees and architecture are the first things you notice that tell you that you are not in your world. Love the tree and the countryside.

    On another note, enough with the white, united statesian negative slants. People are good or bad and race, nationality and religion have nothing to do with it.

    Enjoying the blogs!

Leave a Reply

